Board of Management

What does the Board of Management do?

The Board of Management (BoM) manages the school on behalf of the Patron, Dublin & Dún Laoghaire Education and Training Board (DDLETB). Although the BoM is accountable to the Patron and the Minister for the overall running of the school, it is the principal who is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school. The principal is accountable to the BoM/ETB.

The main duties of the BoM are to:

  • Oversee the provision of an appropriate education for each pupil in the school
  • Ensure that the characteristic spirit of the school is upheld
  • Discuss and ratify policies developed by the school
  • Keep the patron informed on key decisions and proposals
  • Ensure that school money/resources are used responsibly

How often do they meet?

The BoM meets a minimum of 5 times in the school year and once every term. The dates of board meetings are usually decided at the first board meeting of the year and thereafter may be obtained from the principal on request. 

Who is on the Board of Management?

The BoM has eight members. The composition of the board is made of up two Patron’s nominees, two teacher nominees (including the principal), two parent nominees, and two community members.

The members of Scoil Ghráinne Community National School’s BoM are:

Patron Nominee

Áine Fitzpatrick (Chairperson)

School Principal

Stacey McAuley

Teacher Nominee

Iseult Scott

Parent Nominee

Angela O’Doherty

Parent Nominee

Kenneth Rea

Community Nominee

Rosanna Caul

Community Nominee

Ciarán Lanigan

Patron Nominee

Awaiting Appointment

How am I kept informed about the work of the Board of Management?

Following each board meeting an agreed report is published. The Board of Management’s Agreed Reports to the school community can be found below.